Is it time you took a staycation?

Well is it? I have lived in Orlando for three and a half years, and I CRAVE staycations here. I mean maybe it’s because I work in the hospitality industry and get to see people on vacation ALL THE TIME. That might just have something to do with it…..

But is it time for you to take one? Do you have places in your city or small town that you just never quite get the chance to check out? Or make excuses for why you haven’t been there? Take some time and explore! Maybe even invite one of your friends who lives in a different town to come explore your hometown!!

That is something I like to do in the summer. I have a friend or family member come and stay with me, and we check off an entire list of things that I probably would not have done, or would have been too tired to do in my work week.

In five days, I have been to 2 malls, 4 different restaurants, gotten donuts, a farmers market, the beach, the pier, and Disney. If I was working would I have had the energy for all that? Nope. Not me. Especially the beach, I mean I haven’t been to the beach in over a year. A year, and I live in Florida.

Anyways, for your staycation I suggest making a list, or taking a calendar and writing down what you want to do for certain days. If you are crazy like me, I even set up an Excel sheet of all the dates, and what I want to do for each day. I know, I said crazy.

Check groupon, find cheap hotels, or cheesy touristy things in your area, and try them out! Live a little and take that staycation you’ve been craving! If you are not into touristy things, try out all those little mom and pop shops and restaurants you’ve been dying to get to! (Always give back to those small businesses!!)

Are you planning your next staycation yet? If not get on it! Or ask your bestie to staycation in their hometown =)

Leave a comment